Jay of Sunshine

It's Still a Beautiful World

Just Chill!

on February 14, 2016

 

To say that I’m a worrier would be an understatement. Maybe the term, worry freak, suits me best. I worry about money and the lack of it, the items I need each month, my things to do list, my life being stagnant as it relates to career goals, family members, my weight, proclivity to procrastinate and the list goes on. As a result, I sometimes find it difficult to fall asleep and when I do, I wake up at way before dawn and the worry mania resumes.

 

whysoglum

Why so glum, Jew?

I’ve decided that I’ve had enough of this, especially the dark eye circles and low energy. For this year I have employed a few strategies to help me put worry and stress to rest. So far they seem effective so you may try them too.

Express your feelings through writing

Using a journal, diary, phone etc to make note of your worries allows you to vent or get matters off your chest. When something is bothering me I pour it all onto paper or on my phone and this has been so therapeutic for me. I hold nothing back and afterwards I find myself thinking clearly. It also gives me a chance to create strategies that can be used to solve some of my problems.

Listening to music

I listen to a wide array of genres, from the 90s Kirk Franklin songs that remind me that I am worthy of Jehovah’s love to the Taylor Swift songs about breakups (by the way, Man Enough by Toni Braxton is, in my opinion, an anthem for women who want to get over past relationships!). You are probably thinking that for de-stressing purposes one should only listen to gospel songs but man, roots reggae, hip hop and other upbeat genres get me in a good mood (positive lyrics, of course!).

Up for two, down for two

Along with keeping you in good shape and physical health, exercise has been known to increase concentrations of norepinephrine, a chemical that can moderate the brain’s response to stress. It also releases endorphins which create feelings of happiness and euphoria and has been proven to reduce anxiety. In addition to reaping these benefits, I usually feel proud right after exercising because it symbolizes the fact that I can overcome laziness and get wonderful results. I also worry less about my weight.

20150222_074523

Me getting ready to break a sweat at a 5K walk/run

Go to bed!

I usually feel drowsy at 9:30 p.m. but I fend off this off because I tell myself that it’s too early. By 10 p.m., I am very alert and ready for the next episode of one of my favourite TV series. By 1 a.m. I’m sleepy and guilty because I’ve robbed myself of precious sleep and may not be productive at work in the next few hours. These days, I get rid of all distractions at 10 p.m. (laptop, light, phone) and try to go to bed, even if I don’t feel sleepy. Sometimes it takes awhile to fall asleep so I imagine myself counting sheep or counting to 1000. It works!

Ain’t nothing better than Prayer

I’ve saved the best for last! Nothing beats talking to our Heavenly Father who always lends a listening ear. Also, we have to accept that there are some problems that aren’t within our control. By accepting this, I’ve learnt to place all matters in His hands, even those that I think I have a handle on. Knowing that He has our best interest at heart is very comforting to me.

prayer-warrior

Image courtesy of http://www.fggam.org/

There are many other ways to de-stress and I may add a few to my routine later on.  I haven’t fully mastered my de-stress routine as yet, because like many worriers, I spend a long time stressing about my problems before I remember that I can use the strategies listed above. I will get there soon. Peace of mind is what I seek and may even get the T-shirt soon 🙂

Source: 13 Mental Health Benefits of Exercise- www.shape.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

