Jay of Sunshine

It's Still a Beautiful World

Divine Beauty Reminders

on February 2, 2016

Yesterday, he was mesmerized by her beauty: velvety smooth skin, eyes that sparkled like stars, lips that are sought after by lipstick companies, Marilyn Monroe body and hair that he wanted to touch. Today, he is repulsed by the condescending manner in which she spoke with those less educated than her, her habit of tearing others down with vicious rumours and her ability to scheme to get whatever she wants, even if others get hurt in the process. He is unable to fathom how someone so physically attractive could be so ugly on the inside. For him, her unsavoury personality had somehow erased the fact that she was a looker.

I take pleasure in beautifying myself. I place heavy emphasis on hair and skin care, sometimes I work out and every now and then I apply makeup to rock a ‘beat’ face. I have subscribed to a few beauty blogs and Youtube channels just to make sure I keep up with the latest products and trends. Any news item that is beauty related is bound to catch my attention. I do these things because I feel good when I look good. I also am cognizant of the fact that while our attractiveness is important, nothing beats inner beauty. I like to think that I have inner beauty and I’m aiming to enhance it some more.

affirmation-inner-beauty

Image courtesy of http://annrusnak.com/

The Bible serves as an excellent guide for those who want to be beautiful on the inside. Here a few verses that show that a winning personality is invaluable.

 

1 Peter 3:3-4 New International Version (NIV)

  1. Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewellery or fine clothes. 4. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

 

Proverbs 31:30 English Standard Version (ESV)

30 Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

woman-relaxing-park

Image courtesy of http://www.thatitgirl.com/

Psalm 139:14 King James Version (KJV)

14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

 

2 Corinthians 4:16 English Standard Version (ESV)

16 So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.

Beautiful-Quotes-on-Inner-Beauty-13

Courtesy of http://www.freshmorningquotes.com/

 

Proverbs 3:15-18 New International Version (NIV)

15 She is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare with her.

16 Long life is in her right hand; in her left hand are riches and honour.

17 Her ways are pleasant ways, and all her paths are peace.

There are many more where those came from. The more we act on what is outlined in the Bible or other sources of inspiration, the closer we will be to achieving inner beauty. We are created in God’s image, therefore we are closer than we think 🙂

Leave a Reply

