Jay of Sunshine

It's Still a Beautiful World

Oh the Mind

on September 12, 2015

Try this:

Say the word ‘silk’ ten times

Say the word ‘bilk’ five times

What do cows drink?

Here’s another:

What do water trucks carry?

What do marl trucks carry?

What do garbage trucks carry?

What do fire trucks carry?

How many of us have fallen for these tricky questions? Don’t lie, I see you, raise your hands! I too have innocently provided some incorrect answers. And of course the chuckles, giggles and hearty laughter follow. This was certainly the scene in the office last week when a co-worker asked each of us the question that was posed at the 8:25 mark in the attached video (I gave the right answer by the way lol).

After the laughter ceased I had a discussion with two co-workers about these types of questions. At first one pointed out that the people who answered incorrectly were not very smart but she changed her tune when another argued that their responses were as a result of mind conditioning. I added that it is very easy for anyone to think they way they did when the questions/statements that preceded the main question are structured in that manner. It then dawned on me that these tricky questions are just another example of how the mind works – what we put in is what we get out.

For a long time I’ve had a negative outlook on some aspects or events in my life. Sometimes I would condition my mind to expect the worst because I thought that if I had high hopes I could be shattered by disappointment. Sometimes this mindset worked especially when I was pleasantly surprised but in hindsight I now realize that I was doing myself a major disservice. I’ve made a promise to myself that I will remain positive and view challenges as opportunities. I’m not there as yet but eventually I will be.

power-of-the-mind-Wallpaper__yvt2

Photo courtesy of http://wezandtreshawallace.com/using-your-mind-to-achieve-your-goals/

Previous mindset- I may not be selected for that scholarship because all the other candidates seem so polished and qualified so why bother?

New mindset- That scholarship feels like mine and even if I’m not successful I’m sure God has another scholarship lined up.

Previous mindset: Why doesn’t he like me? Maybe I’m not pretty or smart enough

New mindset: Everyone has their preferences. His perception of me doesn’t devalue my worth. His opinion is not a fact and besides there are many men out there who would give an organ to be with me lol

Previous mindset: Man, I’m poor

New mindset: Poor? I don’t know that word. It’s not in my vocabulary!

You get the gist.

If the mind can be so easily conditioned why not fill it with uplifting thoughts? Download apps that give you inspirational quotes or watch tv series that have you smiling throughout because the good guy is winning or listen to music that doesn’t make you feel angry or depressed. Remember, you are what you eat.

If the mind can be so easily conditioned why not fill it with uplifting thoughts? Download apps that give you inspirational quotes or watch tv series that have you smiling throughout because the good guy is winning or listen to music that doesn’t make you feel angry or depressed. Remember, you are what you eat.

Leave a Reply

